Live Concerts

Walter Trout - The Return On Stage

walterdanaandlaurence (Photo courtesy of Dana Fuchs)

 

I was only 25 when I first heard Live (No More Fish Jokes) by Walter Trout. That album was, and still is, in my modest opinion, the epitaph of what Blues/Rock should sound like. Very few artists have been able to replicate that energy, vibes and intensity that Trout put on that record or in many of his studio albums he has recorded in his long and successful career but they rarely succeeded to do so.

In the last couple of years, horrible and heavy health issues have been very close to take away forever Trout not only from music and family but from life, in a very cruel way. Through the love and devotion of his family and fans, Trout has been able to overcome such issues and is living now a second life, to the point he struggles himself to believe he made it through.

Many people will remember the Lead Belly Tribute evening at the Royal Albert Hall in London on June 15th for the incredible quality of the line-up. Dana Fuchs (what a dynamite!), Laurence Jones, Paul Jones, Jools Holland, Billy Bragg, Eric Burdon, Van Morrison and many others. But Walter Trout stole the whole show. He just couldn't wait to go on stage, he didn't feel like doing anything else than playing tonight.

When that splendid woman that Marie, Walter's wife is, announced him to the London crowd, the whole Albert Hall rose on their feet for three Standing Ovations through the 10 minutes Trout had been on. Walter, visibly emotional, played a couple of tracks, one homage to the late great B.B. King, the other to Lead Belly, joined on stage by the young and very talented Laurence Jones during the whole performance. Apologies to all the readers at Bluebirdreviews about the fact I didn't take any photos. Purposely. I just wanted to feel and breath the whole emotion of that moment. To see Walter Trout on stage again, where he belongs, performing Live, has been an emotional and intense moment for myself and everyone present that night.

The Trout is back again, this time forever

 

Giovanni "Gio" Pilato

 

See Walter Trout Comeback on YouTube

 

Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band Live in London, April 15th 2015

There must be no better place in the world to celebrate 20 years of glorious carrier on the road for a "Shepherd" then the Shepherds Bush Empire in London, UK. The Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band is on the last date of their UK Tour of 2015 and London is paying a massive tribute to this phenomenal artist and his boys with another sold out night.

The night starts very well, with an intense blues mini-set performed by one of the most promising talents coming from England, named Ben Poole. Ben has been building himself a solid reputation in the genre in the last few years and this evening is no exception at all. Just about time to re-arrange the stage and at 20.45, a Blues Explosion detonates for the next two hours. Kenny and the band don't hold back from the minute they set foot on stage; Never Lookin' Back, Everything Is Broken and The House Is Rockin' set fire to the evening in style and Kenny and his band seem certainly to the top of their forms.  

Read more: Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band Live in London, April 15th 2015

Barefoot Truth, Evans and Driscoll, Reunite at The Iron Horse

The Iron Horse Music Hall hosted a full house to welcome native New Englanders, Will Evans and Jay Driscoll, the original members of roots rock band, Barefoot Truth. The band, with frontman, Will Evans, has recorded four full length albums and several EP's of his original music. Their most recent release, "Carry Us On", debuted at #10 on the iTunes Rock Chart. BFT went on hiatus in 2012, but Will Evans and Jay Driscoll have never stopped creating globally inspired roots rock music. Will Evans has shared the stage with many top artists including Crosby and Nash, Grace Potter, Bruce Hornsby, State Radio, Badfish and members of Dispatch.

Read more: Barefoot Truth, Evans and Driscoll, Reunite at The Iron Horse

The Replacements at Boston Calling, 2014: Review, Photos, Set List

Sunday, September 7, 2014.

" ... raise a toast, to a rock and roll ghost."

We were Boston bound for the Minneapolis sound. Replacements fans around the globe suffered through rock and roll purgatory, waiting for a Westerberg-Stinson reunion we thought would never happen. "Should we give it up?"

On Sept 7, for New England fans, it was all over but the shouting. At 8:15 sharp, Jesus rode beside us. Tommy Stinson and Paul Westerberg were all smiles as they walked onto the Boston Calling stage. (Yes, SMILES!)

thereplacements38They were joined by Boston native, guitarist, Dave Minehan, (Who worked with Paul Westerberg, on his solo album, 14 Songs, and plays in the band, The Neighborhoods) with Josh Freese on drums. (Freese has played with: A Perfect Circle, Paramore, Nine Inch Nails, Devo, The Vandals, Sting, Paul Westerberg, Guns N' Roses, Fliptop, Ween, Kelly Clarkson, The Offspring, Weezer, The Desert Sessions, Mötley Crüe, Sublime with Rome, Avril Lavigne, Meraki)

Unlike younger bands, the Mats had no rebel reputation to prove. (Was the wine in The 1975 guys' staged bottle even real?) Dressed like gents, they looked crisp and sharp tonight, ready to take on the multi-generational festival pumped crowd. Tommy was finishing a beer and mumbled something to Paul, to which he laughed, "Hippies ... F*ckin' Hippies ..." Within a flash, Westerberg took off his jacket and they got down to the business of completely blowing our minds beyond expectation.

Read more: The Replacements at Boston Calling, 2014: Review, Photos, Set List

Gordon Lightfoot at the Calvin Theatre, The Carefree Highway Tour

"If you want to know my secret.

Don't come running after me. 

"For I am just a painter. Passing through in history."

From, "A Painter Passing Through," Gordon Lightfoot.

Wearing a blue satin vest, pressed white shirt and gentleman's boots, Gordon Lightfoot delivered a rich and elegant performance at the Calvin Theatre on July 13, 2014. The Canadian singer-songwriter legend, honored the Northampton full house, receiving multiple standing ovations throughout the night. With long set list of deep cut classics from his expansive catalog, his warm textured voice continued to deliver the same intensity and drive as it has since his first Toronto recordings in 1962.

When the band walked out and Gordon followed, cheers, whistles and applause filled the room. The band had equal command of the audience. The material played, which changes throughout the tour, was delivered with timeless impact that a group can only master from experience. They brought their history of folk, rock, country, and even a little jazz sound, to multi-generational crowd. For many people who grew up with the 70's singer-songwriter comfort of radio and early folk, the songs were heard through our souls.

Read more: Gordon Lightfoot at the Calvin Theatre, The Carefree Highway Tour

BOSTON with Cheap Trick Bangor, ME 2014

Boston w/ Cheap Trick

Darling's Waterfront Pavilion
Bangor, ME USA
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
------------------------------------------------

Written by: Matthew Joel Phillips

Photography by: Chris Joles

Summer's only begun, but school was back in at Darling's Waterfront Pavilion in Bangor, ME as classic rock legends Boston (on tour with Cheap Trick) showed every live band how to put on a show, rainy weather be damned.

Bringing their "A" game on Wednesday, July 2nd, the Boston mother ship landed just as skies darkened and our first taste of special effects came not from the stage but from overhead, and the original pyrotechnic wizard: Mother Nature.

Boston is of course led by Tom Scholz: guitarist, singer, inventor, producer, principal songwriter and graduate of MIT (the Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and he proudly wears a gray shirt with the school's logo during the concert. (And his instrumental "Last Day of School", from their latest album, was one of my many early highlights of the show).

Read more: BOSTON with Cheap Trick Bangor, ME 2014

Rich Robinson at the Paradise Rock Club

Rich Robinson Rocks the Paradise
June 6th, 2014, Boston

The tour bus was parked out on the street as the line of concert goers stood waiting for the doors of the Paradise Rock Club to open. A Boston original, the 'Dise" sits on Commonwealth Avenue at the edge of the Boston University campus. The Paradise holds just over 900 people and opened its doors in 1977. In 1981, U2 played their very first show on American soil here. Many Bands coming through Boston make this Rock Club one of their stops.


Rich Robinson and his band did exactly that on June 6th, a beautiful warm Friday night in Boston. Robinson, a founding member of The Black Crowes, is touring in support of his critically acclaimed album The Ceaseless Sight. Ceaseless Sight is his third solo album and was released just three days before this show.

Read more: Rich Robinson at the Paradise Rock Club

Ray Lamontagne Tours on SUPERNOVA

Ray Lamontagne began his summer tour on May 27th, a rainy Tuesday evening in Portland, Maine. Listen to the the title track to his newest release, in summer fresh colors and sounds - SUPERNOVA:

 

Former Drive By Truckers alumni, Jason Isbell, opened the show for Lamontagne. Isbell is from Alabama and has been on a worldwide tour since the release of his 4th Studio album Southeastern in 2013.

Read more: Ray Lamontagne Tours on SUPERNOVA

The Iron Horse Tribute to Lou Reed, Jan 9, 2014

The Iron Horse Tribute to Lou Reed, Jan 9, 2014.

"Oh ye of little faith ..." (Lou Reed, "Busload of Faith," New York).

How do we say good-bye to a person who influenced the world for generations in music, writing, performing, poetry, art and consciousness? 

We don't.

We don't say good-bye. (I've decided).

In getting ready to attend the Lou Reed tribute at the Iron Horse Music Hall, I was torn about going, because it would make Reed's passing all the more real. Yet, I did not want to miss the opportunity to be in the same room with fellow fans and bands who also love Lou Reed. The last time I saw Reed was 2008 at the Calvin Theatre . It was a satisfying performance, validating who Reed is, yet filled with surprises, humor, depth and poetics, that let us get to know him even better. The gathering of artists tonight, in their elegant presentation of Velvet Underground songs and Lou Reed classics, accomplished a similar feeling. A tribute to hold these songs and memories for the rest of our times here, allowed Lou Reed's influence to continue to be celebrated.

Read more: The Iron Horse Tribute to Lou Reed, Jan 9, 2014

Boston Tea with Robert Plant, JuJu and Messing with The Blues

Do you JuJu?

Full circles often happen in the natural evolution of living things, but the exact space and time that it takes to complete this curve cannot always be known. The given distance from the locus of a point, must be constant in order to support the return of its boundary. The seeker. Robert Plant, is true to the art of not only music, but discovery. Music fans should not be surprised that Plant's latest tour with the Sensational Space Shifters incorporated world music influences. Plant created an atmosphere of warmth, exploration and adventure

~ And he did this through ritual.

Read more: Boston Tea with Robert Plant, JuJu and Messing with The Blues

KISS with Shinedown at Harbour Station, Saint John, NB, Canada.

KISS
w/ Shinedown

Harbour Station
Saint John, NB CANADA
Wednesday, July 31, 2013
------------------------------------------------

Explosions, special effects, piercing screams and black giants towering over a crazed mob: it's either a summer blockbuster movie or the latest KISS tour is in town.

Celebrating 40 years, and touring for their 20th studio album, "Monster" – which debuted at #3 on the Billboard "Top 200" last fall – KISS will make 19 coast-to-coast stops in Canada, from the shores of Victoria to St. John's, Newfoundland.

They'll play some of Canada's largest cities and biggest venues (like the Molson Amphitheatre in Toronto) and some smaller Canadian cities like Lethbridge, Alberta and – closer to my home base – Saint John, New Brunswick.

 

The KISS monster has been relatively unseen in these parts, like a Sasquatch stomping through the trees that you're never close enough to get a full view of, before it vanishes.

Read more: KISS with Shinedown at Harbour Station, Saint John, NB, Canada.

Subcategories

Out On The Tiles

Jeff Beck with Tyler Bryant: Kitchener, Ontario, October 19, 2011

This would be my first time seeing Jeff Beck live. jeffbeckwebthumbWhile I have not been a follower of his music, I wanted to take my son to see him and in all honesty, to say "I've seen Jeff Beck in concert". Being a long time Led Zeppelin and Jimmy Page fan, I've been familiar with Jeff's work with Jimmy alongside the Yardbirds, and on rare stage appearances. I thought this would make a nice outing for my son and I to see a "Legend".

Read more...

 

Follow Bluebirdreviews for daily song posts, music reviews,

feature articles and interviews. 

LIKE US on Facebook

Find us on Google+

~ Follow the birdie on TWITTER ~

Remember to support your favorite artists through buying their products.

A good place to start is searching BestBuy.com and Amazon.com.

 

Maine Music News

Dont let the name fool you! Maine Music News provides live concert reviews and photography for shows throughout all of New England. Our photographers cover shows in Maine, New Hampshire, Connecticut, New York, Massachusetts and anywhere else we can! Our writers provide detailed album reviews and expertly written interviews as well. We may be called Maine Music News, but we dont let the Maine border stop us!