Interviews

The Bright Side Of The Music: An Interview With Robben Ford

The Bright Side Of The Music: An Interview with Robben Ford

by Giovanni "Gio" Pilato  

PRD74542 450Artists are often defined by the level of class and versatility they are able to put in their works through the years and the ability to diversify their style, by keeping it constantly fresh and modern. In essence, to be able to be one step beyond the ladder of music geniality to anybody else.

Robben Ford, without a shadow of doubt, belongs deservedly to the very top of such ladder and an album like Into The Sun is a clear mirror of his incredible talent. An album of many layers, elegant, surprising at times but always upbeat, in a way that just the American guitarist is able to create.

It's my second meeting with Robben and today, he looks very relaxed and excited, at the same time, to see how people will react to the release of his new album. He greets me in a very good Italian and my first question to him is, whether the album title is related to the contemporary sounds used on the album or there is a hidden meaning about calling the album Into The Sun. "I am sorry to disappoint you", says Robben, "but the title's idea came from the photoshoot. We did series of shots of me walking into the sun and that is where the idea came from. My initial thought was to call the album Flow but after watching the shots we did for the album cover, I thought that Into The Sun was a fit name for the album". 

Read more: The Bright Side Of The Music: An Interview With Robben Ford

The Tale Of Two Sandis: Interviews with Sandi Thom

by Gio Pilato

Rewind the film: I met Sandi Thom about three times between June and October 2013 and the impression I could perceive at the time was of a talented young woman with a fabulous album out (Flesh And Blood) but seemed troubled. Despite the kindness she always showed every time we met, there was something I could detect, something that was hidden, and she was just dealing with it personally, like any brave Scot would do.

Winter 2014 in South UK and the fabulous and talented young woman I met an year earlier, suddenly looks so different as we shake hands; despite all she had been through lately (her break-up with Blues Titan Joe Bonamassa had just recently been confirmed by Sandi herself via Social Network), she looks serene, relaxed and at the same time, very determined.

"I honestly don't mind talking about my recent break-up, but at the same time I do appreciate you are asking no questions about it".

Read more: The Tale Of Two Sandis: Interviews with Sandi Thom

Between True & Imaginary Friends - An Interview with Reeves Gabrels

Between True & Imaginary Friends - An interview with Reeves Gabrels

by Gio Pilato

Innovator, pioneer, alternative but fundamentally, one of the most talented guitarists and producers that the music business has ever had in the last four decades of music history. To define Reeves Gabrels is rather difficult, given the magnitude of his talent; therefore, no one better than The Man himself can tell us more about him and his incredible career in the music industry. Reeves has recently completed his new project, called Reeves Gabrels And His Imaginary Fr13nds, together with bass player Kevin Hornback and the drummer, Jeff Brown. Bluebirdreviews.com is delighted to have today Reeves talking about past, present and future and most importantly, about his new album.

Gio - Hi Reeves and many congratulations for your new project called Reeves Gabrels & His Imaginary Fr13nds. Despite the fact that you have been on the music scenes for many years, this is only your fifth album as a solo artist. For how long has this record been in your mind?

Reeves - We started this record about four years ago; then I joined The Cure in 2012 and I was about to release the record that summer but I got shelved because of many different things happening. I listened to it again and re-mixed a couple of songs, re-recorded few tracks,take some tracks off the album and recording few more pieces for it.. Actually it is (the record) something I have never had the luxury of doing having that much time available in between the whole process. Kevin Hornback, Jeff Brown (The Imaginary Fr13nds) and I have been playing together for almost seven years now and they have been part of this project for so long time that I really felt the need of calling the album Reeves Gabrels & The Imaginary Fr13nds as a tribute to their involvement. Originally I use The Imaginary Fr13nds nickname at the time I was doing some acoustic shows because people was asking who I was playing with and I said: "My Imaginary Fr13nds!". I brought some stuffed animals with me at that time at the shows and I thought, "It's as good as a name as any"; It was like the Buckaroo Banzai movie and I felt like the Buckaroo Banzai and the Hong Kong Cavaliers (chuckles).

Gio - The album counts 5 covers among the overall 11 tracks, all beautifully executed with your unique style, full of virtuosity and versatility as always. How difficult has it been for you to choose the covers that ended up on the record?

Read more: Between True & Imaginary Friends - An Interview with Reeves Gabrels

Phillip Fox - Ohio, No Places Like Home

phillipfox

Phillip Fox - Ohio, no places like home!

by Gio Pilato

One of the most notorious slogan about Ohio in America is "The Heart Of It All" and the debut album of the Phillip Fox Band, Heartland, pays a wonderful tribute in many ways to this beautiful part of the world. After about one year in the making, the band releases this superb journey in music that take the listeners through an imaginary trip through Route 70, crossing Columbus until reaching Buckeye Lake in a road of the soul, made of love, loss, hope and truth.

Phillip Fox has courteously accepted today to talk to us at Bluebirdreviews.com to find out more about the band, their debut album and their phenomenal music combustion that Phillip likes to call "Country-Fried Rock'n'Roll".

Read more: Phillip Fox - Ohio, No Places Like Home

The Return of Rival Sons

 

Rival Sons' drummer, Michael Miley, took on interview questions from rock writer, Stephanie Hussey.

 

RIVAL SONS is an American rock band from Long Beach, California. Formed in 2009 the bands current members are: Scott Holiday, Michael Miley, Jay Buchanan, and David Beste.  Signed to Earache Records the band released their newest album, Great Western Valkyrie, in Europe, UK and the USA in June 2014. 

Read more: The Return of Rival Sons

The Michael Marquart Interview

The Michael Marquart Interview.

BBR:

Tell us about your new project: A Bad Think: Sleep

Michael:

Sleep is my 5th album, and they just keep getting better. You would think I'd run out of things to say but apparently I have a lot to say! I'm hitting a sweet spot or something, in my writing or production, and there has been a ton of responses. It's fantastic to hear ... I do this for the art and all that. I don't do it for the fame or the glory or any of that. Of course, it's fantastic when you put all the hard work into it and someone appreciates it. I do it for the music. All of my albums, I love them all and this one I love too. They are like children, it's hard to play favorites.

Read more: The Michael Marquart Interview

An Audience with Robben Ford

by Gio Pilato
DSC01616
Robben Ford is one of those very rare people that is able to make an impact on anybody, as a musician and as a human being. When I walk in his dressing room, his charming smile and his presence makes me feel extremely comfortable and personally, I could not hope for more, given the importance of this extraordinary musician.
 
Bluebirdreviews is extremely honoured to meet Robben in London, UK, to promote his latest record, A Day In Nashville, which demonstrates once again the class and the ability as songwriter and performer of the american guitarist.
 

Read more: An Audience with Robben Ford

Where I'm From: The Dave Gutter Story

Sat. August 9th, 2014
Written by Lee Hebert

WHERE I'M FROM

Love Underground: The Dave Gutter Story

My 'Music Lover' friends and I feel so good when we can introduce each other to an artist or band. Not just any band, but one that deserves to be shared. A band that blows us away. We will pass around the CD after enough listens that we can part with it. Before you know it your CD is returned. "So how'd you like it?" "I loved it. I found their webpage and ordered this one and their first album." That is about on average what happens, and we're old school, we prefer hard copies, the way we prefer our cash in our pockets. We respect each others opinions and taste in music, and it is a privilege to turn each other on to something pure and real.

This piece is about an artist that is pure and real, devoted to a life pursuing that perfect moment. This is about a big fish in a small pond. It isn't someone just breaking out, I am certainly not at the cusp of it this time. You may have heard the name. Someone could have got to you before I have, considering this artist has been playing music for thirty years and has released over a dozen albums, winning as many awards. The first EP released still sounds fresh, as does the entire discography, the way most great music does. I hope you'll enjoy this read, I enjoyed writing with anticipation of turning you on to some music by an artist 'where I'm from'. This is the story of a true luminary, and his name is Dave Gutter.

Read more: Where I'm From: The Dave Gutter Story

Postcard from the Soul: An Interview with Cedric Burnside

Postcard from The Soul: Interview to Cedric Burnside

by Gio Pilato

The REAL music, the one that comes from the heart, is never fortuitous; it may be coming from inner, deep feelings such as loss or separation, but is nevertheless the result of somebody that is able to observe life with pure eyes and is, in that specific moment, that one is able to separate REAL music from the pre-planned one. Cedric Burnside belongs to this minute portion of worldwide artists able to express their emotions in music in a straight forward way, without filters and capable to adopt such purity in the immediate build-up of their songs.

When I met Cedric at 9 am in a beautiful, sunny Italian morning in Rome and almost immediately, Cedric welcomed me with the biggest, most sincere smile ever, and a hug that almost disarmed for such immediacy and spontaneity. Cedric is today's guest of Bluebirdreviews.com to talk to us through Hear Me When I Say, his latest release, recorded in collaboration with Trenton Ayers, a very talented guitarist and long time friend of Cedric under the name Cedric Burnside Project. The album is a very intense one, lyrically speaking, packed with soulful tales of life and once again, a true treat of pure Mississippi Hill Country sound played beautifully both by Cedric and Trenton.

Read more: Postcard from the Soul: An Interview with Cedric Burnside

The Way Life Goes - An Interview with Tom Keifer

The Way Life Goes - An Interview with Tom Keifer

by Gio Pilato

For somebody coming from a paralyzed vocal chord health issues, Tom did a pretty good job on this record. Released in 2013, The Way Life Goes is hard-rock, with blues roots, which comes naturally for someone like Tom Kiefer to write and record. Tom is taking a temporary hiatus from the 80's band Cinderella to promote his first solo album. He kindly accepted to talk to us at Bluebirdreviews.com about this album and his career, in and out of Cinderella.

Read more: The Way Life Goes - An Interview with Tom Keifer

Behind The Tracks: An Interview with Ray Goren

June 24, 2014 marked Ray Goren's music recording debut, with the release of LA Sessions, a five song EP penned by Goren and produced by Eddie Kramer. This exciting event is celebrated by fans, friends, and family members alike. Many have logged into Goren's Facebook and Twitter accounts to express their well-wishes and heartfelt sentiments:

"Good Stuff."

"Awesome!!! So incredibly happy & excited for u!! ! I've very much enjoyed seein your growth since the first time I saw u blow the LBC jam @ Ashley's up:)) what an exciting journey lies ahead... Huge congrats!! Look forward to seein u soon... Peace N Luv."

"Thank you Ray, I can't tell you how cool this video is but also how cool it is to watch you blossom or more like explode into this absolutely amazing young artist. Your original music is great and most impressive and a glimpse of things to come."

"From first to last note, LA Sessions is a hit parade, with Goren strumming to his own beat, as the young composer cleverly integrates jazz, rock, pop, rhythm, and blues elements into one distinctly modern soundtrack." Read the full review in Bluebirdreviews.

It was shortly after reviewing LA Sessions when I had the good fortune to speak with Ray by phone, from his home in California. During our 34 minute conversation, I discovered Ray is modest, intelligent, and full of wisdom. He is driven by an innate passion for songwriting and instrumentation, being heavily influenced by multiple musicians and genres. When Ray's not practicing or playing out, he's listening to others. He is goal-oriented and knows exactly where it is, that he wants to be five years from now. Ray's mannerism is that of a seasoned professional: He graciously answered my every question with poise and sense of humor, simultaneously.  

Read more: Behind The Tracks: An Interview with Ray Goren

Out On The Tiles

Kevin Bowe and The Okemah Prophets LIVE!

March 25, 2013

Club Passim, Cambridge, MA.

Kevin Bowe is a busy man - always has been. Driven by independence and creativity, he blazes his own paths, and there are many. With a full career of songwriting for great artists including; Jonny Lang, Etta James, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Tommy Castro, John Mayall, and Lynyrd Skynyrd, his experience in both recorded and live music stands alone. He is also loyal to the
contemporary folk collective, collaborating with Alison Scott, Lissie Wright and Freedy Johnston.

Bowe's history includes backing Replacements front man and solo artist, Paul Westerberg. He was recently invited to join Westerberg and Tommy Stinson to cut a tribute LP for Replacements' guitarist, Slim Dunlap. Once the vinyl was cut, instead of riding the 'will The Replacements reunite?' wave, Bowe packed up his guitars, harmonica, and headed out on a national tour with Okemah Prophets, Peter Anderson and Steve Price.

We reviewed The Prophets 2012 release, Natchez Trace. The album has already entered our lyrical memories and become a reference point to compare other works. It reflects extensive experience with multiple styles of music. Rock, folk, blues, and punk, all blend together in timing and proficiency. Kevin Bowe and The Okemah Prophets are individually talented in their own right, but after six years of playing together, when they team up on stage, something entirely new is created. So when their nationwide tour came through New England to Club Passim, in Cambridge, MA, they were not to be missed.

Read more...

 

Follow Bluebirdreviews for daily song posts, music reviews,

feature articles and interviews. 

LIKE US on Facebook

Find us on Google+

~ Follow the birdie on TWITTER ~

Remember to support your favorite artists through buying their products.

A good place to start is searching BestBuy.com and Amazon.com.

 

Maine Music News

Dont let the name fool you! Maine Music News provides live concert reviews and photography for shows throughout all of New England. Our photographers cover shows in Maine, New Hampshire, Connecticut, New York, Massachusetts and anywhere else we can! Our writers provide detailed album reviews and expertly written interviews as well. We may be called Maine Music News, but we dont let the Maine border stop us!
  • Frank Hannon Band – Asylum, March 26th, 2015
    Frank Hannon Band – Asylum, March 26th, 2015 The first time I met Frank Hannon was in 1989 when he came to Portland, Maine with the band he co-founded, Tesla.  I have since photographed him and Tesla many times over the years but this was my first chance to see and hear Hannon solo. Early... Read more →
  • Blackberry Smoke – State Theatre, March 26th, 2015 
    Blackberry Smoke released Holding All the Roses, their latest collection of sweet and heavy Southern rock and roll, in February, and it was the talk of the crowd at Thursday’s show.  All were in agreement – this music is fresh and new and still all Smoke.  The album has moved the band in a slightly... Read more →
  • One on One with Paul Jackson – Blackberry Smoke
    Paul Jackson, guitarist for Blackberry Smoke, sat down with Maine Music News, and friends, on March 26th, 2015, a bit before the Portland, Maine show at the State Theatre.  When we get a chance to sit down and chat with an artist, we usually have a plan for the big questions, but everything else just... Read more →